The Islington Center Task Force was created by the Board of Selectmen in October 2015 to study Islington Center and to facilitate meaningful discussions to benefit the future of Islington Center. The Task Force is comprised of 14 representatives from various Town boards and committees, Islington neighborhood residents, business owners, and Town staff. The primary purpose is to create an avenue for transparent, respectful and open discussions for proactive and positive redevelopment of this vital section of our Town.

ICTF Mission Statement

The Islington Center Task Force (ICTF) is an advisory committee that reviews and discusses the physical attributes and uses of privately and municipally-owned properties in the vicinity of the Washington Street, East Street, and School Street intersection. The ICTF will focus its attention on Washington Street between Fairview Street and Clapboardtree Street, School Street between Pine Lane and Washington Street, and East Street between the East Street Bridge and Washington Street. The Task Force will identify the most significant character-defining elements of Islington Center, consider obstacles and opportunities for improvements, and encourage building, site, infrastructure, and pedestrian improvements appropriate to this area's unique village-style development. The Task Force makes recommendations to the Planning Board and Board of Selectmen as either board considers decisions affecting Islington Center.

ICTF Voting Members:

  • Michael Walsh, Board of Selectmen Representative
  • Trevor Laubenstein, Planning Board Representative
  • George Hertz, Finance and Warrant Commission Representative
  • Kela Klosi, Pedestrian and Bike Safety Committee Representative
  • Rabih Shanshiry, Islington Resident Representative
  • Trish Tucke, Islington Resident Representative
  • Jack Patterson, Islington Business Representative
  • Albert Wisialko, Islington Business Representative

ICTF Ex-Officio Members:

  • John Deckers, Fire Chief
  • Michael Jaillet, Town Administrator
  • Pam Dukeman, Finance Director
  • Nora Loughnane, Director of Community & Economic Development
  • Abby McCabe, Town Planner
  • Paul Sicard, Public Safety Officer

ICTF Meetings

The Task Force typically meets once per month from 7:00 PM - 9:00 PM. All meetings are open to the public. The exact time and location of meetings are posted to the town's website a few days prior to each scheduled meeting. Meetings are also recorded by Westwood Media Center TV

Islington Center Bulletins - Sign Up to Receive Future Bulletins
Bulletin 1 Published on January 12, 2018