Roy London Humanitarian Award

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Roy London Humanitarian Award - 2019 Nominations


The 2019 Roy London Humanitarian Awards will be presented at a ceremony on Thursday, April 11, 2019 at 7:00pm at the First Parish Church Hall, 252 Nahatan Street, Westwood, MA.  More information the ceremony to come so please check back!

Want to know more about the award and past recipients?  Click on the video! 

Special thanks to Westwood Media Center for its coordination to make this PSA possible

The Roy London Humanitarian Award is presented annually to citizens of Westwood who by their actions embody the spirit of Roy London. Roy did many things throughout his life to better the lives of others in the Westwood community. Candidates for this award are those people who have demonstrated compassionate or charitable action to make Westwood a better community.

I believe that the great people of this country are not in Washington, DC or in Hollywood or on the football field.  The truly great people are those who love their communities.  They volunteer for committees and raise money for their favorite charities.  They support their houses of worship and work for better education.  They send get well cards, go to wakes and funerals.  They cry when a friend is hurt and rejoice when things go well.  These are the people who make this country work.  They are the great people of society.”     Roy London lived by these words of his father.


2010 Recipients

Pictured from left to right: Robert Folsom (recipient), Nancy Hyde, Philip Shapiro, Collen Campion (recipient) and Fran Campian(recipient)


2011 Recipients

Pictured left to right:Glad Rags Organization, Megan Licameliand Chester Smith


2012 Recipients

2012 Recipients_ Ken

Kenneth Foscaldo


The Ouellette Family


The Westwood Community Chest


2013 Recipients

2013 Recipients

The Westwood Food Pantry, Joseph Gantert, Paula McLaughlin and Larry Walsh


2014 Recipients

2014 Recipients

Charles Domina, Wendy Muellers, Denise Singleton and Jessica Cole


2015 Recipients

2015 Recipients

The Foundation for Westwood Education, The Russell Family, Barbara Delisle, Mark Plecinoga and the Varnerin Family


2016 Recipients

2016 Recipients

Barbara Waterhouse, Emily Sugg, Todd Sullivan and Associates, and the Transitional Assistance Committee


2017 Recipients

2017 Recipients

Pam & Peter Kane, IAM Strong Foundation, Hannah Paterson and Jeffrey Greenwald


2018 Recipients

2018 Recipients

Westwood Young Woman's Club, George & Virginia Lester, Janet Shepperson, Shirley Munroe