Roy London Humanitarian Award

Roy London Humanitarian Award
 Town of Westwood
Established 2010
The Roy London Humanitarian Award will be presented annually to citizens of Westwood (adults or children) who by their actions embody the spirit of Roy London. Roy did many things throughout his life to better the lives of others in the Westwood community. Candidates for this award are those people who have demonstrated compassionate or charitable action to make Westwood a better community.

Roy London Nomination Papers Now Available.  Please click on the icon below to download a copy.  Completed nomination papers can be sent by email to Christine McCarthy at or by mail to Roy London Nomination Committee, c/o Selectmen's Office, 580 High Street, Westwood, MA 02090.  Questions?  Call 781-326-4172.



“I believe that the great people of this country are not in Washington, DC or in Hollywood or on the football field.  The truly great people are those who love their communities.  They volunteer for committees and raise money for their favorite charities.  They support their houses of worship and work for better education.  They send get well cards, go to wakes and funerals.  They cry when a friend is hurt and rejoice when things go well.  These are the people who make this country work.  They are the great people of society.”     Roy London lived by these words of his father.


2010 Recipients
Pictured from left to right: Robert Folsom (recipient), Nancy Hyde, Philip Shapiro, Collen Campian (recipient) and Fran Campian (recipient)
2011 Recipients
Pictured left to right: Glad Rags Organization, Megan Licameli and Chester Smith
  2012 Recipients  
  Kenneth Foscaldo  
  The Ouellette Family  
  The Westwood Community Chest  
  2013 Recipients  
  The Westwood Food Pantry, Joseph Gantert, Paula McLaughlin and Larry Walsh  
  2014 Recipients  
  Charles Domina, Wendy Muellers, Denise Singleton and Jessica Cole  
  2015 Recpients  
  The Foundation for Westwood Education, The Russell Family, Barbara Delisle, Mark Plecinoga and the Varnerin Family  
  2016 Recipients   
  Barbara Waterhouse, Emily Sugg, Todd Sullivan and Associates, and the Transitional Assistance Committee