Building Department


Welcome to the Westwood Building Department

 

Building Department 

50 Carby Street
Westwood, MA 02090

Feel free to contact us at: 
Phone:  (781) 320-1091
Fax:      (781) 407-5855
shogan@townhall.westwood.ma.us

Office Hours

Monday, Wednesday & Thursday 8:30am - 12:00pm;1:00 pm-3:00pm
Tuesday: 8:30am-12:00pm;1:00pm - 3:00pm; 5:00pm - 7:00pm
Friday: 8:30am - 1:00pm

 

Inspector's Office Hours

Building
Mon - Fri: 9:00 am- 10:30 am

Wiring/Plumbing
Mon - Fri: 8:30am– 9:30 am

 


 Please note that as of August 1, 2016 plans sheets over 24" x 36" will no longer be accepted.

   Building Permit processing can take up to 30 days.

                   Please contact the office via phone to schedule inspections; do not contact individual inspectors.

Inspections will be scheduled within 24-48 hours of request.

The Buidling Deparment is responsible for issuing building, electrical, plumbing, gas, sprinkler, and mechanical permits for new construction, repairs, renovations, and demolition, reviewing plans for compliance with the State Building Code and The Zoning Bylaw of the Town of Westwood, as well as issuing Certificates of Occupancy.  The department responds to calls and complaints, and conducts periodic inspections of public buildings as required by State Code.

 

Personnel Directory:

Building Inspector - Joseph F. Doyle, Jr., jdoyle@townhall.westwood.ma.us

Asst. Building Inspector - Michael P. McLean

Asst. Building Inspector - Mike Perkins mperkins@townhall.westwood.ma.us

Wiring Inspector Kevin Malloy - kmalloy@townhall.westwood.ma.us

Asst. Wiring Inspectors - James Naughton jnaughton@townhall.westwood.ma.us

Asst. Wiring Inspectors - Paul Angus pangus@townhall.westwood.ma.us

Plumbing/Gas Inspector - Harry Knight hknight@townhall.westwood.ma.us

Administrative Clerk - Susanne Hogan shogan@townhall.westwood.ma.us

Weights/Measures - State of MA, P: 617-727-3480, charles.carroll@state.ma.us

 

 

 

Current Codes:

2009 International Residential Code with Massachusetts amendments

2009 International Building Code with Massachusetts amendments

2009 International Existing Building Code with Massachusetts amendments

Massachusetts Stretch Code with 2009 International Energy Conservation Code

2009 International Mechanical Code

521 CMR Architectural Access Board

248 CMR Plumbing & Fuel Gas Code

NFPA 70 Electrical Code with Massachusetts amendments

271 CMR Sheet Metal Code

NFPA 13 Sprinklers

NFPA Fire Alarms

524 CMR Elevators

527 CMR Massachusetts Fire Prevention Regulations