My Town
Close Panel

Roy London Humanitarian Award

Roy London Humanitarian Award

2018 Roy London Humanitarian Award Nomination Period Now Open!

Do you know a special resident or organization that deserves to be nominated for the Roy London Humanitarian Award?

Many of us marvel at the kindness of others in our community who unselfishly contribute their time and talents to others both within and outside Westwood.  Now is the time to recommend these people as nominees for the 8th Annual Roy London Humanitarian Award as these people deserve to be recognized by their community.

All nominations of residents and organizations should be submitted to Christine McCarthy at Westwood Town Hall.  The award(s) will be presented at a Board of Selectmen meeting in the spring.  Please contact Christine McCarthy at or 781-326-4172 with any questions or to make a nomination.  Click on the icon below to download a copy of the nomination form:

The Roy London Humanitarian Award will be presented annually to citizens of Westwood (adults or children) who by their actions embody the spirit of Roy London. Roy did many things throughout his life to better the lives of others in the Westwood community. Candidates for this award are those people who have demonstrated compassionate or charitable action to make Westwood a better community.
I believe that the great people of this country are not in Washington, DC or in Hollywood or on the football field.  The truly great people are those who love their communities.  They volunteer for committees and raise money for their favorite charities.  They support their houses of worship and work for better education.  They send get well cards, go to wakes and funerals.  They cry when a friend is hurt and rejoice when things go well.  These are the people who make this country work.  They are the great people of society.”     Roy London lived by these words of his father.


2010 Recipients
Pictured from left to right:Robert Folsom (recipient), Nancy Hyde, Philip Shapiro, Collen Campion (recipient) and Fran Campian(recipient)
2011 Recipients
Pictured left to right:Glad Rags Organization, Megan Licameliand Chester Smith
2012 Recipients
Kenneth Foscaldo
The Ouellette Family
The Westwood Community Chest
2013 Recipients
The Westwood Food Pantry, Joseph Gantert, Paula McLaughlin and Larry Walsh
2014 Recipients
Charles Domina, Wendy Muellers, Denise Singleton and Jessica Cole
2015 Recpients
The Foundation for Westwood Education, The Russell Family, Barbara Delisle, Mark Plecinoga and the Varnerin Family
2016 Recipients
Barbara Waterhouse, Emily Sugg, Todd Sullivan and Associates, and the Transitional Assistance Committee
  2017 Recipients   
   Pam & Peter Kane, IAM Strong Foundation, Hannah Paterson and Jeffrey Greenwald  

2016 Recipients